Dear So and So…

My take on the Dear So and So meme:
Dear MIL

I am very grateful for everything you do to help us out. However, when my parents who are visiting from 300 miles away and seeing their grandson for the first time ever remark that it must be nice having us just round the corner, do not remark that you do not see him ‘that often’. You see him at least twice every week, if not more, and my parents don’t see him at all. Please have a little tact.

Thank you,

Slightly scared of you daughter in law.

**********

Dear MIL

When you are holding the baby and he is wriggling about heading for your chest don’t announce at he will “Not get anything from you”. I am in the room and you know that I am upset that I was unable to breastfeed so the fact is that the baby is not getting any for me either. Please have a little tact.

Your fed up daughter in law.
 

**********

Dear Husband

Please do not repeat every conversation that I have with you about your mother to your mother. She is bossy and when she says some things to me I feel like I am being told off. You telling her that I said she told me off makes her have a ‘word’ with me about that fact she was not telling me off that is the way that she is. If you just keep your mouth shut we will not have this problem.

Your loving wife.

**********

Dear Step Mother,

Please stop calling my gorgeous son “Number 3”. He has a name. You know that name. USE IT. He is an individual, not a bloody number.

First time mum

5 Responses to “Dear So and So…”


  1. 1 Jordan November 12, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Can 100% relate to the first ‘letter’ – my parents live in Spain & my husbands dad (have no MIL, sadly – although some of you may think i’m lucky!) does exactly the same, as do my great-grandparents (my mums M&D!) – drives me crazy!

  2. 2 Claire November 12, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Tee hee! If only you could move to where your family lives and then she’d know how sad they must feel.

  3. 3 Liz (LivingwithKids) November 12, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Very funny, I only wish they knew how you felt! One thing I’ve learned is that when you’re a parent you have to let a lot of what your in-laws and mother and other people in general say wash over you otherwise you’d go crazy.

    By the way I call No 1 Son No 1 Son on my blog but that’s because he would get really mad if I used his real name x

  4. 4 Anon November 12, 2009 at 10:04 am

    It is only when you become a parent that you really understand all those Mother In Law jokes. Somehow having a child means that your mother and your mother in law are allowed to criticise (sorry ‘offer helpful advice’) all they want.

    I rationalise it by saying that both Grannies were stay at home Mums. Therefore, this is their speciality. This is what they did, this is how they identify themselves. So, I just let them say what they want and then ignore what I don’t feel like taking on board – sticking my fingers in my ears and singing la la la la la.

    But a BIG NOTE TO SELF. Fast forward 30 years and I MUST NOT do the same thing to my children’s children. Someone remind me of this at the appropriate time, please!

    PS – only signing myself Anon because my Mum does read quite a few of the Mummy blogs. Don’t know if she has found this one yet but I daredn’t take the risk.

  5. 5 Sarah Fontó November 14, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    “Please do not repeat every conversation that I have with you about your mother to your mother.”

    I found that being threatened with a gag helped there. Not 100% effective but certainly helped curtail the worst of the leaky mouth syndrome.

    Alternatively offer to fill her in on everything he says about her in the interests of balance. that might help give a little personalized perspective

    Feeling your pain

    Sarah


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


