The only one who can?

Don’t you sometimes just have those days where you wonder if you’re the
only person “who can do” – I do, pretty much every weekend when my
husband is off work and my step-son is home for the weekend. 
Apparently I’m the only one who realises that the baby’s nappy needs
changing more than once in a day, that things need putting away when
they are finished with, that the kitchen needs cleaning after meals,
that the dishwasher needs emptying, that wet towels need picking up off
the floor, that dirty clothes don’t live on the end of the bed, that
shoes and jackets go in the cupboard NOT on the hall floor!?!?  I could
go on and on and on!!!  And then when I finally reach bursting point
and say something, they look at me like I have three heads or even
worse with the pitiful look and ask if I’m feeling poorly?  NO I’M NOT
FEELING POORLY I THINK YOU’RE TAKING THE P*** ACTUALLY!!!  And then to
make matters worse when I finally get to sit down and relax my husband,
step-son sit cuddled up on the sofa in front of the TV and baby girl
goes and sits with them so I feel like the bad guy that no-one wants to
be near.

Of course I sit here and say that I will stop doing everything that I
do and then maybe they will see just how much I do BUT I just can’t do
it, I can’t live in a messy, dirty house and they know that.

2 Responses to “The only one who can?”


  1. 1 anonymous December 15, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Oh I think we’ve all been there! Time to set some ground rules (maybe not for the baby!)

  2. 2 Sue January 1, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Oh dear, I know that feeling….so well. We have the same problems in our house too. TBH I have given up asking now as it only stresses me out when they look back at me as if I’ve asked them to move the earth, or they tutt at you and make a big scene about it. If I knew then, what I know now….I’d stayed single and celibate.

    Anyhow, nice to meet you and I look forward to getting to know you better. Sue x


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


