Happy Families?

Was going to write out a huge rant with the whole prelude to today’s  fiasco, but will instead just say that today I have flipped at my family and said, ” I am fed up of  you criticising my kids, they have behaved impeccably given the circumstances, its 6.30 and dinner was meant to be served at 5, I have had enough of this” and stomped off. 

Result was that our Christmas meal was eaten in silence in a horrid atmosphere.  We have come home and no-one is speaking to me and the worst is that we are meant to go round tomorrow for Boxing day (except OH is going to football so would be me on my own with the 3 kids).  I know I will have to apologise, even though I was justified in what I said, but actually it is mum who should say sorry, but as is usual when there is an argument she goes all “victimy” until I grovel.

I am promising myself that next year, rather than trying to please everyone, we are staying at home, just the five of us.

What really broke my heart was my daughter saying, “mummy, Nan was cross and Christmas wasn’t really how I expected it to be” she saw my face and added, ” but I did have a nice time” to then try and cover up what she had said. I now feel utterly utterly miserable.

2 Responses to “Happy Families?”


  1. 1 Sue January 1, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Oh dear, sounds as if it didn’t go as planned hun. I know that feeling, every year we try so hard to please everyone and it makes me wonder why we bother. All over with now….till next Christmas. Sue

  2. 2 Iota January 1, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    I suspected that Parent Confidential would receive some Christmas tales of woe.

    I’m sorry. I hope you can find a way forward.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


