He has a name, you know.

My mother in law refuses to call my son by his name. It’s Sonny.  

I don’t mind if you work out who this is, I name him on my blog (but in case you’re wondering it’s not Mummytips who has a son of the same name). But I couldn’t have this post on my blog in case you know…it backfires.  

When he was born and we told her what we’d decided to call him, she point blank refused to acknowledge it was a real name. Never mind that we chose it from a name book, there are people like Sonny Liston and Sonny Rollins and of course good old Sonny and Cher. When we had a girl, I’d have loved to have called her Cher just to spite her.

 Where I live, the name is positively normal. There are far weirder things.

 Instead she calls him Little’Un. God, it’s annoying.

 She never signs birthday or Christmas cards with his name.

When we had another, I felt sure she would have to start calling him by his name, to distinguish between the two. But no.

It’s disrespectful. Maybe going behind her back and bitching like I’m doing now is also disrespectful. It probably is. This is actually the tip of the iceberg as to what else she does. I used to play a game where  I’d try and get her to say his name but now I’ve given up. It is not a case of reasoning with her. Or saying that it’s hurtful. That would be like water off the proverbial duck’s back.

And to end on a pun, in her book, Sonny seems to be the hardest word.

4 Responses to “He has a name, you know.”


  1. 1 Rosie Scribble April 15, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    It is very disrespectful of her. She should respect the name you have chosen to give your own child. You say it is the tip of the iceberg and I suspect you are probably right. Sorry to hear this. It can’t make life easy. Parents should be there to support us and our choices in life. Sadly, often they aren’t.

  2. 2 mrsljhall April 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    The mother-in-law jokes were created for a reason! Sounds like you deserve a medal for biting your tongue. I know it is trite advice but don’t let her get to you x

  3. 3 Anon April 25, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Can’t you get your partner to say something? What about when your son is older? How will she address him them? Names are very individual, I have not always liked names my friends have given their children but I would never ever dream of saying so! They may feel the same way about my children’s names too. She is completely out of line.

    And by the way, I think Sonny is a great name 🙂

  4. 4 Lin December 28, 2010 at 3:23 am

    I don’t think it’s disrespectful to write or talk about how you feel. I do think it’s childish to avoid saying your grandson’s name because you don’t like it. Maybe your partner can talk to her because it’s kind of not fair to the kid.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


